Who are we?

Historical Background to Parish and Town Councils

Parish Councils have been in existence since 1894 following the passing of the Local Government Act. Mr Gladstone was the Prime Minister at the time. Holt Parish Council became Holt Town Council in 1974 following local government re-organisation.

The Local Government Act 1972 saw a number of changes in local democracy not least the demise of the old Urban and Rural District Councils and the emergence of District Councils. In Norfolk there are seven District or Borough Councils and Holt is situated in the District of North Norfolk. The administrative base of North Norfolk District Council is at Cromer.

The Town Council is run from an office in Holt Community Centre.

Our Functions and meetings

Parish and Town Councils known as local councils, all have varying roles and functions and also sources of income.

Holt Town Council has 13 elected members representing Holt. Members meet on the second Monday of each month and meetings start at 7.00 p.m.

They are held in the Community Centre. Dates and agendas of meetings are advertised on the town council notice boards. Parishioners are welcome to attend all meetings and there is an opportunity during public participation time to ask questions about any matters concerning the parish.

We also have two committees – the Spout Hills Committee and the Holt Vision Committee both of which meet twice a year.

Town Council meetings follow a similar format each month, and the agenda will include:

How we can help you!

Our roles and responsibilities:

Our roles:

Josh.biz Web Design, Norfolk